Why I still work on “one day at a time”

Just a short post as I am on the road this week …

Even after 25 years, “one day at a time” is part of how I stay sober. That’s because I know I cannot take my sobriety for granted. I might walk into a social gathering where I didn’t expect anyone to drink much, and it turns out that a lot of drinking is going on. I might be hurt by a comment from a colleague or a friend. Or I might do something thoughtless, and hurt someone unexpectedly.

For me, those surprises can affect my balance. We all experience many small surprises in our lives, but I have learned that those are the moments when I am more vulnerable to the desire to take a drink or a toke.

And that’s where “one day at a time” comes in. When I get that unsteady feeling, I try to remember that I only need to stay sober for this moment, for this day. That helps me to draw a deep breath, and find my calm centre. To remember the many reasons I am so grateful for being sober. To remember the many reasons I don’t want to drink.

AND … if it is really hard to get back to my steady sobriety, there is always another meeting. I don’t go to A.A. meetings very often anymore. But it is really good to know that I can always find a meeting where I will hear and speak with other people who are working on their sobriety. I am so grateful for A.A. and the many people who share their experience, strength and hope in those rooms.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I still work on “one day at a time”

  1. eddiered says:

    Thanks a lot for the post. I guess no matter how old you are or how much sober you have you can never do more than one day at a time. I like that spiritual principle and I try to remember it when I am going throughout my day. I got help getting sober from a place called new Life House. Check out their site if you are looking for help. We will suddenly realize that God is doing for us what we could not do for ourselves.

Comments are closed.