Sweet gratitude

Ah, it’s been a hard day at work …  That means less creative energy, so this will be a short post.

When the chips are down – whether it is a big pile of tough news, or just the day-to-day challenges of life in these times – reflecting on my reasons for gratitude helps me to slow down and focus on the very many positives in my life.

The ability to see the gifts and joys in my life is very much due to my sobriety. When I was using, it was really tough to see much good in my life, because:

  • Living from drink to drink or toke meant I was always making that drink or toke a priority, wasting money, time and the space to deepen friendships and contribute more to my community.
  • Drinking and drugging meant making a lot of bad decisions, risking my mental and physical health, and the safety of others too.
  • Looking for the next high meant I missed so many small and quietly wonderful things in my life and the world around me.

Working on my sobriety has made room for so much more joy and healthy behaviour – so very worth it.

Being sober has also made room for a dear partner who supports me, and sweetly reminds me of the many gifts and choices we have in our lives. Oh, yes, there really is abundance in my life: gratitude indeed!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.