Some days …

Oh, no matter how positive and sober a life I try to lead, there are some days where I just don’t do so well. This was one of those days. I woke up with a head-banger of a migraine in the middle of the night and am still feeling the effects more than 12 hours later, I’ve had a challenge with my work and a disagreement with a loved one.

Does all that drive me to drink? Fortunately, and with deep gratitude, no.

However, I do need to remember to draw on what I have learned in recovery. To remember to turn my will and life over to the care of God, which means for me to remember my intention to connect to a Higher Power, the Spirit that guides me. To connect to Mother Earth, and find my centre. To remember the goodness in myself, and in everyone. And to breathe deeply and slowly as I hold that centre, and connect to Spirit.

And rest, for having a migraine is a tiring thing. With gratitude for another day sober, good night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some days …

  1. Reg Phelan and Stella Shepard says:

    Sure hope you are feeling better, I suffered from migraines during my 40s but have been migraine-free for about 10 years now. Take good care .. Hugs

  2. Sibyl says:

    Thanks friend!

Comments are closed.