Building community

Very kind blogger nsg2 sweetly nominated me for the Liebster Blog Award last week. Check out their deeply honest blogging about life and sobriety and spirituality: http://recoverspiritually.com/. Thanks nsg2!

As nsg2 posted, “the Liebster Blog Award is not really an award as such – there’s no panel of judges or even an actual award.  It is basically a way for bloggers to give a ‘shout out’ to their favourite blogs and make all kinds of networks and links with fellow bloggers.  Blogging, after all, represents a lovely community and I’m a cheerleader for anything that reinforces that.”

What anyone is asked to do if nominated for this award is:

1. Post 11 things about yourself.
2. Answer the questions that the nominator has set for you, and create 11 questions for the people you’ve tagged as great bloggers.
3. Choose 11 bloggers and link them in your post.
4. Go to their page and tell them.
5. No tag backs!

The questions I was asked are:

1. Name something really good that’s happened today (or yesterday if you’re reading this first thing in the morning!)

My sweetheart gave me tulips.

2. What makes you happiest?

The sweetness of my partner and daughter and friends. The joy of nature that surrounds me.

3. What’s your favourite way to relax?

A book.

4. What makes you really inspired and motivated?

Joining others to do some good. Small bits of good – they add up.

5. What made you first start blogging?

Approaching my 25th anniversary of sobriety, and wanting to share my journey.

6. What’s better: tea or coffee?

Love coffee, but have not had any since 2004 on the advice of a naturopath because of migraines.

7. You only have one day left to live.  What do you do with it?

Tell people how much I love them.

8. What’s your best quality?

Empathy (on the personal side) and organization (on the professional side).

9. What’s the nicest compliment anyone’s ever paid you?

That I am kind.

10. What are you most grateful for?

So many many things (that’s what I’m blogging about).

11. What’s your life’s dream?

To live an intentional life of kindness, and have some fun – of the sober kind – along the way.

Here are the blogs that I sample, sip, sup and enjoy – and nominate for the Liebster blog award:

The questions I would like to ask my nominees are:

  1. What started you blogging?
  2. What makes you laugh easily?
  3. Where are you most comfortable, in the country or in the city?
  4. What do you do for fun?
  5. Who do you want to be when you grow up?
  6. What is the title of the last book you read?
  7. What is a quiet joy in your life?
  8. What is your favourite comfort food?
  9. What do you like to make with your hands?
  10. If you could go for a walk with anyone from the past or present, who would you chose?
  11. If you could share just one piece of advice, what would it be?

Thanks again nsg2 for nominating me, and for the community of bloggers who share their sobriety journeys or otherwise post fun, thoughtful and interesting things to read and ponder. My heartful gratitude for inviting me into your worlds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.